Tags

, ,

November is National Novel Writing Month and reading has always been a favorite past time of mine. Ever since I was younger my mom would take my brother and I to the library and we were in book heaven, everything I wanted was right at my fingertips (now I say the same thing about the internet. Oh blogs and youtube, how I love thee). When I saw that this was this week’s topic on Fashion/Beauty Friend Friday was about the last books we read or our favorite books I was excited!

Recently read

Lost symbol by Dan Brown- I think he is a great author, from Angels and Demons and The Da Vinci Code. Yes his work is controversial for some people, but personally I think he is a brilliant writer and I definitely could not put this book down!
Girl with the dragon tattoo by Stieg Larsson– This was a very talked about book and I can see why. At first it was slow (as in the first 100 pages..) but it was definitely worth it to get to know the characters and set up the plot. Lots of twists, and a bit dark and twisted at times but worth a read!
Style by Lauren Conrad– This “fashion guide” by Lauren Conrad was just that, a guide. She had some great tips and wardrobe ideas but honestly, I feel like I get more ideas and inspiration from you bloggers =)
Thousand splendid suns by Khaled Hosseini– A fictional book that takes place in Afghanistan. Great book and a bit emotional but I think he is a great author as well.
What i wish i knew when i was 20 by Tina Heelig– My brother gave me this book for a graduation gift last semester and it really is a motivational and funny read. Inspires you to think outside of the box and not be let down by life’s obstacles.
Half the sky– This was actually a required novel for my Women’s Health class last semester and it isn’t so much a book but more of an eye opener to what is really going on in the world when it comes to women, opression and equality. NOT an easy read, very difficult to read at times, but it did motivate me to go into women’s health as a career.

Some books I want to read:
The Help
The Hunger Games trilogy
Wicked

 

I would love to know what you are reading or any of your favorite books so feel free to comment below!

